Vegan Cauliflower and Spinach Bhaji

This is a fabulous way to use up left over cauliflower and spinach and has a mighty kick. Tone it down by omitting the birds eye chilli, if desired.

When I made this, I was fortunate to have the necessary spices in my collection. It may be a bit of a faff but I do recommend you use them all to get the final, tasty result.

You will need:

Cauliflower, spinach, onion (I used shallots), garlic, ginger, turmeric, cumin, coriander, cayenne pepper, tinned tomatoes, vegetable broth, vegetable oil and a birds eye chilli, if you are brave enough!

Cut cauliflower into florets, finely slice onion and wash spinach. Put vegetable oil in pan and fry florets and onion for a few minutes until softening and getting a bit of colour.

Whack in the spices, garlic and ginger ensuring everything is covered. Lower heat and cook for 10 minutes or so.

Add the broth and tinned tomato and simmer for a further 10 minutes. I took mine off the heat at this point and added de-stalked spinach and left it to wilt.

Enjoy! This dish freezes perfectly well too and is a great way to use up excess vegetables.

Leave a comment